“PRECIOUS” or “Falling Down Steps With Babies On Board”-my fuckin review

I just finished watching the movie “Precious“. I can tell you this, it may be one of the only movies I feel like I have understood this past year and this year so far. It was honest, it said what it wanted to say and didn’t hide it. Mo’Nique deserved that fucking Oscar. She was amazing because she was mean and cruel but not a villain. The dialogue made so much sense to me, and maybe because I fucking curse a lot too. Some of you may or may not know this but I had a rough childhood. I love my parents, but they didn’t love each other, and me and my sister paid the price. I ain’t (yep I said ain’t bitch) got too many secrets in my life any more and I am not embarrassed about too much either. My dad was/is an alcoholic and I grew up in a violent home, so I feel like I can relate to this movie on a lot of levels. Shit, I guess maybe this review is biased, but fuck it. I am also not a big fan of Oprah Winfrey or Tyler Perry because they are too fuckin preachy for me, so if their names are stopping you from watching this film, then look past their shit. I think the movie reminded me of where I came from and where I am. I have learned over the years that my family were not villains either, just sad about their own lives and loves. Also my favorite part is when Precious said that she cried one day and felt stupid, but then she said “but fuck that day”. I’ve had that day sometimes and I cry too, but I agree fuck that day. Fuck that day. 🙂 So if you like cursing, people stealing chicken, and Mo’Nique hitting you in the face then this movie is for you.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Not only black girls named Precious will steal a bucket of chicken, I will too.

B. In the movie they say “Homo’s are good people” and I know some, they are good people.

C. At one point Monique was watching a sitcom called “227”, I got dizzy, cuz I love the show “227”.

D. I miss big ass gold earrings that chicks wore in the 80’s.

E. This movie made sense to me.

F. In the movie, Precious pretends she is a star in day dreams, I used to pretend I was a robot, up until this past Sunday.

G. I understand movies that have a lot of cursing in them.

H. Mo’Nique is amazing in this movie.

H. Sorry this review wasn’t funny, but Precious was sad.

I. I want to see “Precious” fight crime bosses, or super villains or be in the The Matrix 4 doing cart wheels.

J. I love Monique.

4 thoughts on ““PRECIOUS” or “Falling Down Steps With Babies On Board”-my fuckin review

  1. You know, i FINALLY watched Precious last night. I loved it too. Honestly, Oprah and Tyler Perry were stopping me from looking into it. i kindof wrote it off as one of those movies that “important” black people tell you to watch because its a movie with black people in it…kindof movies. those are the ones i avoid because i think oprah is the devil, but not in a cool tim curry in legend way. more of a sneaky , i’ve secretly stolen the souls of everyone and they dont even know it, kindof way.

    but enough about that.

    in closing, I loved precious and monique did deserve the oscar, her final monologue sealed that. however, i hated Gabourey’s oscar dress. i saw it and immediately felt bad for her. no one with a complexion that dark should wear navy blue… or appliques.

    -DAX!

Leave a Reply

