I Grew Up On Black Television- my fuckin favorites

Ok some of you may or may not know this but when I was little I didn’t really watch white (Caucasian- this word creeps me out) oriented sitcoms. I just didn’t understand what all these white (Caucasian) folks were talking about in their shows. My favorite shows were black (African-American) sitcoms, because they made sense to me and understood the jokes. I guess I didn’t really even realize their was a difference in people until I got older and went to school. School taught me about racism, not my home. I remember asking other kids if they watched these shows, so I could talk about the jokes or story lines or whatever but the white (Caucasian) folks in my neighborhood and school didn’t watch them. They would either say no and look confused, or make some racist comment to me so I would just say fuck it never mind.  All my black (African-American) friends did watch these shows, my favorite shows, so growing up that is who I talked with the most about Television. All these shows are incredible and I love watching them to this day. Even now I own a lot of them on DVD. Here is a list of my favorite black (African-American) oriented sitcoms. If you have not seen them go rent them, their comedy clearly influenced my life. I am watching “227” right now as I write this.

When I was 10 years old I asked my mom this.

Eddie- “Mama, why do the white (Caucasian) kids not watch these shows?”

Mama- “Well maybe they just don’t understand them, why do you like them?”

Eddie- “They are honest, and I guess I don’t understand what the fuck those white people are talking about on their shows.”

Mama- “True , True”

Eddie- “Those honkeys can all go watch “Family Ties” bitch.”

Ok, I mean that’s basically what was said, I was 10 I can’t remember every single word.

1. “What’s Happening!!”

2. “Good Times”

3. “The Cosby Show”

4. “227”

5. “That’s My Mama”

6. “The Jeffersons”

7. “Amen”

8. “Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids”

9.  Gimme a Break!

10. “Living Single”

11. The Boondocks

3 responses to “I Grew Up On Black Television- my fuckin favorites

  1. I watched a number of white shows, but I loved The Cosby Show, Living Single, Martin, Family Matters, Keenan and Kel, All That, In Living Color, and I watched a little bit of Sister, Sister. Those are all the ones I can remember, anyway. You have to be older than me, because most of the shows you listed were a little before my time. The white shows I was truly disgusted with (that I genuinely gave a fair shot) were Saved By The Bell, Full House, and Friends. I will never understand why they were so popular amongst my stupid (yet somewhat beloved) friends.

  2. The guy I dated for 7 years, that I just broke up with, got me hardcore into Adult Swim shows. He and his friends would never watch The Boondocks, though, and everytime I questioned this, they always said that they were too white to watch that show. What kind of fucked up stupid reason is that??? I wish I had gone against the grain and watched it on my own. I just got Netflix, and I will be putting it in my queue.

Leave a Reply

