“Doubt” or “Don’t Let Your Kid Be An Altar Boy” my fuckin review

This movie came out in 2008, but I wanted to see it and forgot this shit existed. OK so Meryl Streep is the head nun in charge and she is a bitch too and I love it. There is a younger nicer nun (Amy Adams) who looks up to her and follows her ass around too. The story starts when Meryl thinks that their priest (Philip Seymour Hoffman) at the church is tickling altar boys. The film is really about you as the viewer having doubts about what you are being told and shown. The film goes back n forth, one minute you think he did it, the next you do not. Meryl Streep is amazing in this role and at times I forgot it was Meryl Streep that I was watching. This movie deserved awards, all the actors were convincing in this movie. I really did enjoy it a lot, and Meryl Streep really can play any role and you will buy that shit.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Meryl Streep could play Malcom X and it would be perfect casting. She is that good.

B. If I have a kid he will never be an altar boy, or even go to confession.

C. I grew up Catholic it was scary.

D. Meryl Streep really was amazing in this movie.

E. Philip Seymour Hoffman was kind and creepy in this movie.

F. Meryl Streep though the song “Frosty the Snowman” was a pagan song.

G. I feel like nuns wear nice hats.

H. I like 60’s eye glasses.

I. This old nun in the movie said these words “I like the noodles. I like the crunch” and this made so much sense to me.

J. You really don’t have answer either way. I have such doubts.

K. Watch this movie you will have doubts too.

2 thoughts on ““Doubt” or “Don’t Let Your Kid Be An Altar Boy” my fuckin review

  1. This was a hard one for me. Kinda surprised of the review since it’s not a very new movie. Well…guess my initial impression was kind of like yours. It was meant to leave doubt. That thing with the fingernails remains stuck in my mind and, since, I pay way more attention to mine. I think there’s something to this, though I can’t articulate exactly what. Well, it’s all about faith. I can identify with the Meryl Streep, P.S.H., and Amy Adams characters. Guess that’s the quality of the movie is that it makes you think. You sort of want more resolution, but it’s not there. All in all, I’d have to say that I like Streep’s character the most because she’s most stuck in the middle, and therefore, the most illustrative of “Doubt”. A really good performance, I thought, but left you guessing. With a name like “Doubt”, makes perfect sense.

    • I know its old, but I just watched it, I figured as long it is the first time I have seen I would write a review for it. I do wish the ending would have told us something.

Leave a Reply

