Black Films You May Have Missed Because You Were A Honkey!

I decided to talk about my favorite African-American (black folks) oriented films for Black History Month. These are not random films. I love and own all these movies and think they are brilliant. Now before you Caucasians (white folks) jump in and say “hold up wait a minute, a lot of these directors were white”, just shut the fuck up, clearly I know that. Hollywood is known for being racist so it was hard for an African-American (black folks) Directors to actually get to direct something, but the writers and actors influence is shown through out all these movies. Anyway these are the films I love to watch and own.

1. The Color Purple– This film is one of my favorites every made. It is brilliant and I love ever character in it. I think I find peace in this film. The real travesty is that it was nominated for 11 Academy Awards and did not win a single one. If you are curious, best picture that year went to “Out of Africa”.

Trailer:

2. Glory– The score to this movie is one of the best ever composed. I also hate war movies, but this one is not like your typical one. This one is amazing.

Trailer:

3. Precious– I love and understand everything about this film. Monique is incredible.

Trailer:

4. What’s Love Got to Do with It– I Love you Tina Turner. If you haven’t seen this film then buy it. Her life is incredible and sad.

Trailer:

5. Malcolm X– White folks were scared to see this in the theatre, I am serious. They were afraid of getting beat up or some shit. haha I went opening night with a date. I love this film, and even if you don’t agree with Malcolm X you should see his journey, in the end he figures it out but it’s too late. The movie shows his life like a train ride, you gotta get on board and ride through all the bumps to see the end.

Trailer:

6. The Wiz– Fuck “The Wizard of OZ”, this is the only one I understand. I also want to play the lion in this movie.

The Trailer:

7. Jackie Brown– Pam Grier you are living gold. I would make out with her today.

Trailer:

8. I’m Gonna Git You Sucka– I still laugh every time I watch this film. I love it.

Trailer:

9. Higher Learning– They should show this film to kids in High Schools across America, maybe somebody would learn how to fuckin get along with one another and be accepting of shit.

Trailer:

10. Purple Rain– Millie D. and Ben C. will pass out while watching this film. I love this movies plot and Prince’s songs. This movie is amazingly weird.

11. Truck Turner– This whole movie was written so I would understand it. Thank you.

Trailer:

12. Poetic Justice I love this movies dialogue so much. Plus Janet Jackson.

Trailer:

13. Freaknik: The Musical This is an animated movie, and it is amazing.  I mean shit, a talking and rapping ghost played by T-Pain. Brilliant.

Trailer:

14. Coming to America– I love the lines in this movie, and it was when Eddie Murphy was still funny.

Trailer:

15. New Jack City– Another film white folks were afraid to see in the theaters, I saw that shit day one and loved it, and loved the soundtrack too.

Trailer:

16. House Party I love this movie and Kid n Play. One of my favorite actors of all times is in this film too, KELLY JO MINTER.

The Trailer:

My favorite scene: I made this video with Kelly Jo Minter’s scenes.

17. Notorious– His music was tight and he dated Lil Kim.

Trailer:

18. Jumpin’ Jack Flash–  Even though this movie was directed by one of the whitest ladies in America, Penny Marshall, A special shout out goes to Whoopi Goldberg in this film.

Trailer:

19. 12 Years a Slave– A must see film. It’s hard to watch but it was harder for people to live. So take your ass and sit down and learn something. 

20. Selma– The cast is amazing, and you will be moved by this entire film. David Oyelowo should get all the Oscars.

4 thoughts on “Black Films You May Have Missed Because You Were A Honkey!

  1. There are a lot of great films coming out of Africa right now. The African film Kinyarwanda just won a top award at Sundance. I also just saw White Wedding, South Africa’s submission to the Oscars of a year ago. It was hysterical. It’s incredibly upbeat, but it still deals with difficult issues like racial tension. You should watch the trailer on the film’s site at http://www.whiteweddingmovie.com

Leave a Reply

