“Hereafter” or “Matt Damon Sees Dead People”- my fuckin review

I wanted to see this in the theatre but nobody wanted to go see it with me. ASSHOLES. Anyway it came out on DVD so I rented that shit. Ok this story revolves around 3 main characters. The first is a French journalist who is brought back to life after being hit by a Tsunami, the second is a kid from London who loses his twin brother, and the third is Matt Damon who is an ex-psychic. They all live in different parts of the world and are dealing with death in different ways. When death touches your ass you will never be the same. All 3 characters feel alone and lost in their lives and are trying to find answers about life and death. The film is really about how death changes you and how it is supposed to change you, and not even for the worse but sometimes for the better. Matt Damon’s character doesn’t even want to be a psychic and hates touching people because he will know too much about the person. His life is fuckin depressing. The French Lady feels like she does not fit in the world anymore after seeing spirits walking around and shit. The London boy feels incomplete about his brother’s death and is always looking for an answer. There are moments where you are sad and hopeful, but I never felt like anything was ever shoved in my face. It is a quiet film and takes its time to reveal things. It does not feel forced (religion is not even brought up) or over acted at all. I really enjoyed watching this film a lot, but just so you know it is not an action packed movie nor a supernatural thriller, but by the end I felt close to all the characters. I love how it is about fate and that life and death happen for a reason.  I have lost people close to me in my life and wonder if they exist somewhere else or are they just shit on the curb. Anyway if you want to see a quiet but interesting story about life and death, that is not forced, not overly triumphant and not cheesy then this movie is for you. Also Clint Eastwood directed this and it turns out I like most the films he has directed.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Clint Eastwood is old as hell.

B. Clint also composed the score, some cuts were good and some were crappy.

C. The cool thing about all the French Journalists scenes is that they were all subtitled. She spoke French the entire movie. They did not Americanize it.

D. I wonder if psychics lives are really depressing. I would be like fucking MISS CLEO up in that bitch. Trying to make that paper.

E. Matt Damon was good in this movie, only because he did not try to be dramatic and cheesy. Here he is talking to the boy from London, basically telling him to fuck off.

F. Tsunami’s really are fucking crazy.

G. I love how the film really does not answer anything about death.

H. I hate overly forced religion in films, and this was not that way at all. It was just 3 people trying to survive and understand life.

I. Click here to see some of Clint Eastwood other films.

J. I do like stories about brothers and this had 2 sets of them.

K. I wish this song would have been played in the end credits.

L. The poster for it looks like shit.

Leave a Reply

