“Pleasant People” or “Asian Girls Don’t Play”- my fuckin review

Just got back from the “Atlanta Film Festival”, yes, in Atlanta. The only film I cared about seeing was one called “Pleasant People“. It is about this Asian girl named Jiyoung Lee, who is just trying to live her life in Atlanta. At first I thought maybe Jiyoung Lee is crazy and may kill you, but really she is just a girl who is bored and misunderstood. The world around her can be a snooze and she is just trying to make it better and trying to understand her co-workers, friends and wanna-be loves. Jiyoung is really all of us. Sometimes it’s not us that is crazy, it is the world around us. At point she makes a comp CD for a dude she likes, but he doesn’t like her back, so she wants her jams back. Listen, if you make someone a comp CD and you want it back, you should have the right to get that shit back if the person you gave it to turns out to be a creep. She also just wants to make a hit album, and who doesn’t. So if you like Asian girls who are trying to live their lives in a crazy world then this movie is for you. It is funny and entertaining and by the end I started wishing they had already made a sequel. Go see this movie, you will laugh and have fun watching it.

The Trailer: I love Jiyoung’s song also. It is at 50 seconds into this.

The Facts:

A. If an Asian girl gives you a CD then wants it back, then give it back to her fast or she will come steal it.

B. Please let part 2 be called “Jiyoung’s Revenge” or “Jiyoung takes Manhattan” or “Jiyoung in Africa”.

C. My 2 favorite 2 lines are  “I don’t jam” and “He is a snake the grass”.

D. Their Facebook

http://www.facebook.com/pleasantpeople

E. I bet people look at me like I am crazy most the time, so I can relate.

F. The Director is David Bonawits, he seemed stand offish but I was able to get a picture with him.


G. Here is me, the girl who plays Jiyoung and my friend Max F., me and Max will probably stalk her now.

H. There was this one point when Jiyoung yelled at someone, and I felt that way Friday.

I. There was this one character who was this cool punky lesbian girl named Vanessa in the film, she was kinda of Jiyoung’s friend. I got a pic with her too.

J. Here is Jiyoung with 2 of her friends. This was on a postcard for the movie.

K. You can see this movie again  on Friday May 6th at 6:30pm at

http://atlanta.slated.com/2011/films/pleasantpeople_atlanta2011

Landmark Midtown Art Cinema- Monroe Dr NE # C212  – Atlanta, GA 30308-1798– (404) 879-0408

L. The supporting cast was honest and believable, and if you want to see what people are like that live in Atlanta then watch this film. I swear I have been out partying with people just like this. I felt like Jiyoung though.

M. GET OFF YOUR TIRED ASSES AND GO SUPPORT LOCAL ATLANTA FILMMAKERS GOD DAMN IT.

N. Here is the poster.

3 responses to ““Pleasant People” or “Asian Girls Don’t Play”- my fuckin review

  1. Oh, Eddie. I love your movie reviews. You are funny as shit and you alert my attention to movies I never would have heard about otherwise. I watched The Dreamers (which was great) after reading your review of it, and now I want to see this one, too. It sounds like I can relate to Jiyoung a lot, so watching this movie will probably make me feel good. I love your videos of you and your friends, too. You all seem like really fun, cool people and it brightens my day to read this blog and watch the funny shit you guys do/talk about. Thanks for making my life less boring : ) Oh yeah, and it’s the fucking tits that you work on ATHF (or AUPS1?), which is my favorite fucking show EVER.

  2. Pingback: What Types Of Singles Scenes Are There? | My Secret Blog

Leave a Reply

