“Super” or “Ellen Page as a Cursing Super Hero”- my fuckin review

Watched a movie called “Super” with Kevin V. and Max Fisher and you may have not heard of it but it is worth checking out bitch. The movie is about this dude named Frank D’Arbo who was is on “The Office”, and his wife Liv Tyler (who is mousey and I can’t fucking hear her mumbling ass in any movie she is in). Kevin Bacon shows up as smart ass drug dealer and turns Liv into a druggie and then she dumps Frank. This causes Frank to go nuts and turn himself into a real life super hero, but really he just has a costume and wrench and calls himself the The Crimson Bolt. Then he runs into Ellen Page and she wants to be his sidekick and call herself Boltie, she is also funny as hell in this movie. So the Crimson Bolt and Boltie go around kicking asses and killing people. They don’t fuckin play.  In the end the shit goes down and it is crazy.  Ok so I dug this film, the whole thing was pretty fucking entertaining and funny as hell. I was not a fan of Ellen Page until after this movie. I am one of those people who was not in love with the movie “Juno” (I hope Diablo Cody dies), I mean it was ok but she was too hip for her own good in that cut. Now I am into Ellen more after the last few movies I have seen her in. The director is James Gunn and he is one of the only directors I consider cool, and he has done some cool shit. He keeps shit bloody, honest, funny, and violent. James wrote the “Dawn of the Dead-remake”, “Scooby-Doo“, “Scooby Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed” and directed an amazing movie called “Slither“. You may laugh at his resume but I wish it was my resume. His shit is fun and a blast and that is what filmmaking is all about. Anyway check this violent comedy out, it was a lot of fun and had me laughing. I can’t wait for the next James Gunn film. So if you like Ellen Page, super heroes, violence, depression, and weird sex this movie is for you. It is worth a try. You may not love this movie but you will like it and be entertained.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Nathan Fillion is in this movie, and I love him in anything. He is a fun actor and he plays a character called “The Holy Avenger”.

B. Rob Zombie plays the voice of God in this movie. FUCKIN AMAZING.

C. Tyler Bates composed this film and he is one of the newer batch of film composers that I dig. Here are some scores he did that I loved “Dawn of the Dead“, “The Devil’s Rejects“, “Slither“, “300“, “Halloween -remake“, “Doomsday” and “Halloween II -remake” to name a few.

D. James Gunn got his start with “Troma Studios” and The character “Gunn” on the TV series “Angel” (1999) was named such after “Angel” (1999) creator Joss Whedon worked with both James and his brother Sean Gunn. Here is a pic of James.

E. Here Ellen Page trying out to be Boltie. I love it.

F. Rainn Wilson plays The Crimson Bolt, and he was pretty funny in this shit too.

G. Ellen is really funny in this.

H. The opening song is one of my favorite songs ever by the group TSAR “Calling all destroyers”. You watch that shit here. I was sold at this point.

http://www.joblo.com/video/player.php?video=SuperOpeningCredits

I. This movie is not like “Kick-Ass” although I liked that movie.

J. Max Fisher’s review is here, we are literally becoming the new “Siskel and Ebert”. I hope we get a show called the “EDDIE AND MAX SHOW-Shove 2 thumbs up your ass” anyway this is written by Max Fisher in the yellow. PS, just know that we do not read each other reviews until I copy and paste that bitch on here. So we do not copy each others thoughts. 

‘Super’ or ‘I love you, Ellen Page’

Super would be terrible if Ellen Page wasn’t in it. Throw her in a movie and you got gold– unless we’re talking about Juno, of course. I hate that movie with a fiery passion. Diablo Cody, too. How can an ex-stripper with the most awesome name ever suck so badly?! Sorry, back to the point.

Super was not super, but I guess that’s the point, but that’s not what I mean. Dwight from The Office plays a sad loser, aka Dwight from The Office, who becomes a really awful super hero to win back the girl of his dreams. That seems all sweet and innocent and all, but it’s actually really dark, depressing and super-violent. Kevin Bacon plays the villain douchebag, aka Kevin Bacon. Liv Tyler plays Dwights horrible wife who is recovering from her antics in Aerosmith’s ‘Crazy’ video. Then there are some other stars peppered in, like that Firefly guy that nerds love, and Lindsay Weir from Freaks and Geeks, who this nerd loves. This is all well and good, but then Ellen Page shows up and saves the day/this movie.

Ellen Page plays a badass comic store clerk. She obviously really loves comics yet somehow has enough friends to have a cool party at her new apartment. It’s the movies, people, we can all dream. I’d go to her party, though. We’d talk about comics for hours and I’d pretend like I had never seen any of her movies (especially Juno) and then we’d fall in love… Sigh. Anywho, she cusses and has a maniacal laugh and loves to fuck shit up. She’s awesome.

I liked this flick, it wasn’t super or anything. It was dark and depressing, so you’d definitely like it if you’re into that or if you’re a goth kid. I could see some comparisons being made to Kick Ass, but I liked this better because Kick Ass sucked. I don’t care what you say. And as an added bonus it wasn’t written by Diablo Cody!

K. 2 posters cuz they are neato.

One response to ““Super” or “Ellen Page as a Cursing Super Hero”- my fuckin review

Leave a Reply

