“John Carpenter’s The Ward” or “Nancy Drew in the Secret of the Insane Asylum”- my fuckin review

I just watched John Carpenter‘s “The Ward” today with Matthew GalloMarlinda Phillips, and Sky King. I have been waiting to see this movie for a while now, and it comes out July 8th at theaters. Let me first start of by saying that John Carpenter is my favorite director of all time and has inspired how I make and think about film to this day. I meet him once in the 90’s and even though there were hundreds and hundreds of people there to meet him, he was still kind enough to talk to me about shit. The scores he has done for his films are beyond brilliant to me, and to hold one on CD feels like touching gold. His last feature-length movie was “Ghosts of Mars” and yes I own this on Blu Ray and love it. Ok so on to the review. It is 1966 and the story starts off with Kristen (Amber Heard) who is burning down this creepy ass house, and she looks pissed off. Then the fuzz (cops) show up and bust her ass and drop her off at the local coo coo shack. The mystery has begun. In the Insane Asylum she is paired off with some other pretty chicks who are also possibly nutz. Now its bed time and everyone is locked up in their rooms but in this asylum there is a ghost chick who is bad news and out for blood. So the film becomes a sort of spooky/creepy version of a Nancy Drew story. You know, Nancy going around exploring the nut house, with ghosts a foot, a past to solve, and how will she escape this nightmare. Now there are a couple of “cheap scares” (Something I heard John Carpenter say once, it means something jumps out spooky with a loud noises) in it and the ghost chick was scary and I would not want to fuck with her down a dark alley, but it is not very scary to me. It is more spooky and creepy. I did dig this movie, and I love Amber Heard in movies and in this one, she seems real to me. I wish John Carpenter would have composed the score to this film though. This movie is not a loud, non stop thrill ride. It is a quiet spooky ghost story with some twists and turns. There is not a lot of blood or cursing. It is simple, but interesting and I enjoyed the cast and the ghost girl. So if you want to see a creepy ghost story that is a Nancy Drew/Silent Hill old school style movie then this is for you. This is not a shitty “Saw” movie it is a ghost mystery movie, but worth the watch on a dark and stormy July night. I will buy this on Blu Ray the day it comes out.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. I love Amber Heard.

B. Insane asylum’s scare me and yet comfort me. I love to visit abandoned ones.

C. I love a good ghost mystery story.

D. I wish this movie was like a weekend getaway you could pay for.

E. Here is an interview with John Carpenter talking the movie and his thoughts on remakes.

http://collider.com/john-carpenter-interview-the-ward-they-live/95076/

F. The ghost girl showed up to get us.

G. John Carpenter is my favorite director and all his films make sense to me and always will.

H. I really thought Mamie Gummer was awesome and she could have even been in a “Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood” in the 80’s. PS this a huge compliment.

I. Danielle Panabaker was cool and was in the remake of “Friday the 13th“.

J. John Carpenter has composed most of his scores and they are all fuckin amazing. This time he got Mark Kilian to do it, it’s not bad, but it ain’t no “Carpenter’s classic’s”. John, the world loves your electronic synth scores, especially now. Come back and do what you do! FUCKIN MAGIC. John!!!!!! Do your own scores again, ELECTRONIC scores are in again. Listen to this one. HELLO this is just amped up you!!! You inspired these new composers show them how it is done!

K. I loved all the girls in this movie.

L. I met John Carpenter once in the 90’s, and he was cool and I saw him go into the bathroom, when he came out I went in and pissed in both toilets just so I could say this line “I pissed in the same toilet John Carpenter pissed in”.

M. This first time I got the score to “The Fog” I almost cried. It was on cassette tape in the 90’s and I was so happy. It was beautiful. Listen here and cry.

N. Check out this review I wrote about why John Carpenter is my favorite director https://eddieraysmoviereviews.wordpress.com/2011/01/14/john-carpenter-my-favorite-fuckin-director/

O. Anyway check this movie out, if you want a fun creepy watch.

P. Here is Nancy Drew solving a mystery.

Q. I love this poster.

Leave a Reply

