“John Carpenter’s Prince of Darkness” a horror movie you may have missed but a great one bitch!

I have seen John Carpenter‘s “Prince of Darkness” a shit load of times (so this is not a review but more of a recommendation) and it never gets old and I feel like I learn something new about it each time I see it. The basic plot is that a research team from a local college finds a weird ass cylinder filled with swirling green shit in an abandoned church. If the container is opened, it will release Satan. This is the most simple way to explain this complex apocalyptic storyline. This movie is not what you think it will be at all, even after that description. I mean, it is a classic horror movie in every sense of the word, but the story is different and inventive. It is scary, effective and intense. John Carpenter composed the score and it is literally fucking amazing to me. This movie stars two of my favorite actors Donald Pleasence (Halloween) and Victor Wong (Big Trouble in Little China), and they are incredible in this movie together. So if you want to watch a horror you may have missed that is amazing and scary, that has a cool ass story about Satan coming back in weird ass way then this movie is for you. I love this movie.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Alice Cooper is in this movie as a possessed homeless person.

B.This is the second film in what John Carpenter calls his Apocalypse Trilogy. The others are The Thing (1982) and In the Mouth of Madness (1994).

C. I love movies where people are trapped in a building or situation.

D. I want this shit to happen to me. I love her.

E. Listen to some of the amazing score here. FUCK I AM DIZZY..

F. The audio of the “broadcasts” that the character Brian receives in his dreams was sampled by Marilyn Manson in the song “Down In The Park”. It is also sampled on DJ Shadow‘s album ‘Endtroducing…’

G. Here are the possessed homeless people or the people that live on Ponce De Leon and Boulevard in Atlanta, Georgia.

H. I want to fight possessed people.

I. Donald Pleasence  is a legend, one of my favorite actors of all time and a personal hero of mine.

J. They crucify a pigeon in this movie.

K. Something to notice: There are 3 Asian actors (Victor WongDennis Dun, and Ann Yenin this movie who all play scientists and physics majors alongside other characters that are white and African-American. Literally everyone is on an even playing field in this movie. What’s interesting is that there is not one “token Asian character”, which happens a lot in American films. There are 3 characters that aren’t forced to have accents or play stereotypical racist roles (Watch Lethal Weapon 4 then get pissed off). Just like in real life they are just people dealing with issues that are happening to them in the film. Dennis Dun’s character has one of the most honest reaction I have ever seen any character have in a horror film ever when he is trapped in the closet and the demons are after him. Remember this movie was made in 1987.

L. A demon possessed dude cuts his own throat.

M. I wish I was in this movie.

N. Here is a speech that Victor Wong‘s character gives to the students at one point, and I love this fucking speech and Victor Wong.

“Let’s talk about our beliefs and what we can learn about them. We believe nature is solid and time a constant. Matter has substance and time a direction. There is truth in flesh and the solid ground. The wind may be invisible, but it’s real. Smoke, fire, water, light, they’re different! Not as to stone or steel, but they’re tangible. And we assume time is narrow because it is as a clock: one second is one second for everyone! Cause precedes effect; fruit rots, water flows downstream. We’re born, we age, we die. The reverse never happens. None of this is true! Say goodbye to classical reality because our logic collapses on the subatomic level into ghosts and shadows.”

O. Here is the site i09 praising it.

http://io9.gizmodo.com/john-carpenters-prince-of-darkness-contains-one-of-the-1762704953

P. I love this weird ass poster.

One response to ““John Carpenter’s Prince of Darkness” a horror movie you may have missed but a great one bitch!

  1. I just watched this and I liked it! I’ve loved anything to do with Satan since I was 12 years old, although I know I haven’t seen enough Satan-related movies. I haven’t really seen enough scary movies in general. This shit would have scared me so badly years ago, but I can handle it now : )

Leave a Reply

