“The Roost” or “Is That Bat Shit On Your Face”- my fuckin review

I watched a movie called “The Roost” (it came out in 2005) this past weekend that John Paul Ward told me about. Now I was interested in this movie because John Paul told me that Ti West directed it. He directed a film called “The House of the Devil” which is an incredible movie if you have not seen it. Meanwhile back to THE ROOST. Ok the film starts with a group of friends who get off the main road because of traffic because they are late for a wedding party. Yes, the road is desolate as fuck and did I mention that it is Halloween night yet. As they are driving and bitching something big hits their wind shield and they run off the road. Now the group is stranded in the middle of nowhere in the dark in the woods. So instead of staying put (they are white and their cell phones batteries are dead)  they decide to go poking their noses around this farm down they way. There they find a shit load of giant ass bats chilling in a barn that mean business and are infected with some crazy fucked up Evil Dead style rabies. If they bite you then you get super Evil Dead rabies and then you want to bite your friends and give it to them, just like mono. OK this movie is simple but effective, dark and creepy. The score is spooky and it works for the film, this movie is low-budget, but some of the best horror films have been low-budget. It is not a complex story at all, but I think good horror stories are never overly complex. Anyway this is a fun,dark, and spooky film to watch during the Halloween season. If you are looking for something to watch that you have not seen, then check this shit out and “The House of the Devil”. Ti West is a horror Director to watch out for, and he is only getting better and better. So if you like bats, crazy people, spooky barns, and dead cells phones then this movie is for you. Not something I would buy but a fun watch on a Halloween night while wearing a bat costume.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. I dig Ti’s retro feel to his films. They have an 80’s feel to them that I love. Here is a pic of Ti West. He looks like someone you know. Go Ti horror fans believe in you and we are backing your ass 100%.

B. I wonder if you could fight off bats with a baseball bat.

C. I don’t want super Evil Dead rabies.

D. Attacked by bats and loving it.

E. If this happened to me, at least it would be a Halloween to remember.

F. Holy shit look at this fake TV flyer for the film. I get what he is doing and I like it.

G. Tom Noonan plays the horror host of the film “The Roost”. He opens and ends the film.

H. I hope the sequel is called “The Rooster”.

I. Bats do not scare me, but I have never had one fuck my face before either.

J. Seriously if you have not seen the “House of the Devil” go rent and or buy that shit right now. It is an awesome film. I love it and own it.

Here is the trailer.

K. This poster is fucking amazing.

4 thoughts on ““The Roost” or “Is That Bat Shit On Your Face”- my fuckin review

  1. Ok, I’m watching House Of The Devil right now, and OMFG there’s a harpsichord!!! I want one soooooo badly now. That mother looks so badass. I also love this retro thing that Ti West is doing. The trailer for The Roost (and your review) makes me want to watch it, too. What we need are more movies that feature good acting and throwbacks to an earlier time. I am loving this : D

  2. has ti west made any other movies that are not shit other than the roost? the mad should be tried for treason for the other garbage the made, he’s the osama bin laden of horror,

Leave a Reply

