“Drive” or “One of the Best Movies of 2011” -my fuckin review

I just got back from seeing “Drive” (Directed by Nicolas Winding Refn) and let me first start off by saying that a friend of mine named Jason DeMarco
loved this movie so much that he threw 20 bucks at me and told me to go see this movie ASAP. I have never had that happen to me until today. So on that note I went to see it. Ok the movie starts off with this amazing opening, kick ass score and holy shit NEON CURSIVE PINK font (that’s right I said font bitch) and with Ryan Gosling driving some criminals to safety. In a way Ryan is a criminal but in a way not, just a get away driver for hire and also stunt car driver. He later meets a chick named Irene (Carey Mulligan) and her son, who live in his apartment building, and they all become friends. He drives them around for fun to amazing music. Then shit hits the fan when her husband gets out of jail and comes back home, but he ain’t a bad guy, but there are people around him that are and Ryan tries to help them all. I don’t want to say too much about the plot or story so as not to give anything away, but my suggestion is to go see this fuckin movie today. It is not overly complicated or over dramatic, it just makes sense and is compelling to watch (that’s right I said compelling bitch). There is an 80’s feel to this movie (that I fucking loved) in that way that it is shot, in Ryan’s outfit, and even the synth score sounds a lot like a group from the 80’s who used to compose films called “Tangerine Dream“. The entire soundtrack, although brand new, had that 80’s feel to it.  Ever shot in this movie has some style to it and could be freeze framed and turned into a fuckin postcard. There is a scene where Ryan has a hammer to a thugs head and there are topless hookers sitting around calm in the background. I was amazed at this scene. I want it on my fuckin wall. This movie flows and you really do feel close to the characters and feel their pain. It really is one of the best movies I have seen this year. The trailer for this movie does not do this movie justice and I almost didn’t see it because of the trailer. It just looks like some bullshit action movie I would fast forward through. It is not, trust me go see this movie. I would not lie to you. I don’t make money off these fuckin reviews, I write them because I love film and I want people to go see or not waste their time with these movies. That is my only goal. That’s it! So go see this fucking movie, my advice is buy the soundtrack before you go, you will want it when you leave the fuckin the theater. DO NOT! I REPEAT, DO NOT WAIT TO WATCH IT ON TV. SEE THIS FILM IN THE MOVIE THEATER!  Movies were made for the movie theater you fat lazy ass bitch!

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. This movie is amazing and I wish I was in it getting ran over.

B. If I meet someone who smashed someone’s head with their boot for me cuz they loved me, I would love them back.

C. This poster is cool as fuck too.

D. There is a moment where Ryan and the little boy are in an elevator and they are laughing and smiling at each other. It seemed real to me.

E. The story between Ryan, Irene and her husband I liked a lot because I did not expect it. It was not your typical love triangle bullshit. It was honest and real.

F. I want his outfit.

G. Here is that shot I was telling you about with the hookers and the thug.

H. There are 2 masks in this movie. One pumpkin and one creepy ass one. In the background I saw a sign that said Goodwill Halloween. It got bonus points for this, and at one point it even looked like a horror movie.

I. Look at this fucking shot,  and also Carey Mulligan was really good in this film.

J. Christina Hendricks plays Blanche and she shows up to rob a Pawn Shop in high heels. AMAZING.

K. Albert Brooks is in this movie and he ain’t bad.

L. I hope the sequel is called “DRIVE 2: KEEP ON MOVIN” and the play this song in the opening credit.

M. I don’t think I have ever seen a Ryan Gosling movie before today, but he was cool, real and yet robotic at times in this movie. He is a hero in this film but one that seems real. He should get an Oscar.

N. The score was done by Cliff Martinez and is was his best to date. It really is Synth GOLD!

Here is are samples of the entire soundtrack. Score and all.

O. The driving/action/chase scenes were stressful as fuck because you were invested in the characters. Something you do not get in a lot of films.

P.  Nicolas Winding Refn won best Director for this film at Cannes Film Festival this year.

Q. This poster is simple and effective, I love it.

7 thoughts on ““Drive” or “One of the Best Movies of 2011” -my fuckin review

  1. “I hate that jacket and because of it I can’t see this movie.”

    Fuck you, buddy! I’m going to get myself a scorpion satin jacket just like The Driver and run you the fuck down.

  2. LOL! I watched Drive this week and had to immediately order the soundtrack off Amazon, it will be in today and I have been dying for it! I wish i had bought it before I watched the movie, great advice, and I think it is the best movie of 2011!

Leave a Reply

