“Tree of Life” or “Life is Long and Depressing as Fuck, but Beautiful”- my fucking review

I just watched “The Tree of Life” with Chris G. the other day and here is my movie review. I sort of went in blind about this movie and knew very little about it, just some hints here and there. Ok so first off this is not your average movie. Just because it stars Brad Pitt and Sean Penn do not expect a typical linear Hollywood movie. This film is very visual with a lot of images to process in your head with a bold score to back that shit up. The main story has to do with 3 boys and their parents in 1950’s and how the oldest boy deals with growing up and realizing life is fucked up and his parents are not perfect. Brad Pitt plays the boy’s father and at times seems caring and other times seems like a controlling and uncaring asshole. I liked that about his character, it seemed real to me. He did not seem good or bad to me, just a human. The film jumps around to the beginning of time (literally) when life was created on earth and to the boy as an adult Sean Penn. This may seem bizarre but made sense to me. I felt like the film was trying to show you how long the world took to get to “you”, and how hard it was to create life on Earth and that even your suffering and tears are important. Even how insignificant your tears really are in the grand scheme of things. This movie really is about imagery and how we perceive our own lives as we watch it and age with it. I did enjoy this movie a lot, but it was a long watch. You really have to plan on sitting down and watching it and know that at times it is a quiet film. This film is not for all audiences, but I dug it and it reminded of my childhood and where I am today. If you want to see something that is visually amazing, serious, depressing, and may be confusing to some then this is the movie for you. Remember don’t expect and action packed normal Hollywood flick, this movie does what it wants to do. It doesn’t follow all the rules, and you may feel lost at times, but shit that’s life bitch. If you are looking for excitement it is not here, but still an amazing movie.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. The film had a “2001: A Space Odyssey” feel to it to me. Sort of like a family version of it.

B. Brad is teaching the kids Jazz hands.

C. I wish the boy would have punched Brad Pitt in the face.

D. This was composer Alexandre Desplat’s best score.

E. Life really is fucked up sometimes and some people really do make it worse.

F. I wished they would have played “Life is a Highway” at the end.

G. This kid actor looks like he could be Brad’s real fuckin kid.F. The visual effects were done by Douglas Trumbull and they looked incredible.

G. Hunter McCracken did a great job in this movie. He sold that shit.

H.  The Writer and Director is Terrence Malick, and I have never seen any of his films.

I. Anyway give this movie a chance, you may like it even if you are lost.

J. There are dinosaurs in this movie. I shit you not.

K. The only movie I have seen on DVD/Blu Ray that told me to turn up the sound before the movie started.

L. This poster really does sum the movie up. It really is like watching a moving photo album.

3 thoughts on ““Tree of Life” or “Life is Long and Depressing as Fuck, but Beautiful”- my fucking review

Leave a Reply

