“The Innkeepers” or “Bootleg Ghost Hunters on the Run”- my fuckin review

Finallyyyyyy!!!!! I have been waiting and wanting to see this movie for a while now and tonight I got my chance with Matt Gallo. That’s right here is my new movie review for Ti West‘s “The Innkeepers“. OK the film takes place inside an Inn called the “Yankee Pedlar”, somewhere in Connecticut in the last weekend the place is open for business. The two employees, Luke (Pat Healy) and Claire (Sara Paxton), are holding the fort down while the boss is away for the weekend. They are also bootlegging ass ghost hunters, and are doing half ass ghost hunting research while they attend to their duties at the Inn. There are only a couple of guests, one being Kelly McGillis who is playing a sort of psychic, so there is not a lot of Inn work to be done. The Inn is supposed to be haunted and they soon find out the shit is haunted as fuck. Now I will leave it at that so as not to give anything away. I loved this movie because it was a different film for Ti West and yet not. It was a more light-hearted film but yet somehow still scary and kept me guessing out loud the whole time. I have been saying this for a minute but Ti is a director that makes sense to me, he is giving me what I want to see and not treating me like I am a fucking idiot. I love how the two wanna be ghost hunters are just that, wannabes. Not some high-tech Hollywood know-it-alls. This shit seemed real to me, cuz I bootleg ghost hunt myself. I was finally represented in a film (as a bootleg ghost hunter anyway haha). When the scares go down in the film I said “Fuck that” out loud. So clearly the film works. OK so if you dig ghost hunting, haunted inns, real talk from two employees, spooky ass shit, ghost stories, and Ti West films you will love this movie. I will not only buy this shit but go see it when it shows up in theaters in Feb. of 2012. If you can’t wait check it out ON DEMAND right now! I am watching it again while I write this review. If you are looking for constant cheap scares or shitty flashy editing and no character development then don’t watch this movie. Remember this a more realistic horror film, so don’t expect scares every 5 seconds, think of it as your ass in the situation.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Ti West is a really good Director and I have enjoyed all his films.

B. In some ways I have felt like I have lived this movie. Watch this 2 videos to see why.

“Bootleg Ghost Hunters”

“Ghost Hunting at Safety Wolf with Eddie and Eddie!”

C. The characters Luke and Claire feel like us and not actors, and scenes are not forced or over the top. They feel real.

D. OH SHIT!

E. This movie has a touch of “Ghostbusters” in it. Just a hint.

F. The composer was Jeff Grace and he has done Ti’s other films and really knows how to give you an effective horror score.

G. I loved Sara Paxton in this movie she was amazing, and you would want to hang out with her.

H. Here are my other reviews for Ti’s films. If you have not seen these films you should! Click the links to read the reviews.

“House of the Devil” or “Don’t Babysit for Satan Worshippers Bitch”- my fuckin review

“The Roost” or “Is That Bat Shit On Your Face”- my fuckin review

 I know he doesn’t really claim this last film because he didn’t have a lot of control over it, but his positive influence is still seen in this film, and did the best when handed a mess.

“Cabin Fever 2: Spring Fever” or “Too Much Nasty Ass Funk At The Prom”- my fuckin review

I. RUN BITCH!

J. If I see ghost in my bed I am getting the fuck up out if it.

K. You may remember Kelly McGillis from the movie “Top Gun“. She did an amazing job in this movie.

L. I want to go stay in a haunted Inn so fucking bad now I could scream, and probably would if I was there.

M. THIS POSTER IS FUCKIN BRILLIANT! I WANT TO OWN IT!

3 responses to ““The Innkeepers” or “Bootleg Ghost Hunters on the Run”- my fuckin review

  1. Pingback: The Best 15 Films of 2011… (That I enjoyed watching bitch!) | EDDIE RAY BREAKS THAT SHIT DOWN!

Leave a Reply

