“Moonrise Kingdom” or “Kids in Love on an Island”- my fuckin review.

Here is my new movie review for “Moonrise Kingdom“. Ok so the story starts off with this family living on an island. Bill Murray is the dad and Frances McDormand is the mom. Their daughter Suzy and she is bored as fuck and runs away. On the other side of the island there is a Boy Scout troop and Edward Norton is their group leader. There one of the boys named Sam has also decided to run away. It turns out that Sam and Suzy are actually meeting up, have fallen in love and are running away together. Now the Boy Scout troop, the parents, the local cop Bruce Willis, and Child Services are all after them. The real story is about the two kids and their young love. I was like “Shit, I hope these two kooky ass kids make it”. I was rooting for their love the entire film. This movies love story seemed more real to me than most films that have come out in the last 10 years. They were honest, keep shit real and fought for each other. Hell that is real love. The Director Wes Anderson has a way of sucking you into a story and making you wish you were living there with the characters. I really believe the characters in a film are the most important part of a story or a movie. You should want to hang out with those characters and know them. Love them or even hate them. I own all the soundtracks to his films and will own this one as well. The songs and scores to his films just make sense to me and really keep the story moving along. Honestly the real stars of this film are the 2 kids Sam and Suzy (Jared and Kara) and how they do not fit anywhere except with each other. They are amazing and I wish they would make a fuckin sequel. So if you are into pretty shots, disaster films, a cute story, fun music, great characters and Wes Anderson movies then you will dig this shit. I will buy this movie when it comes out.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Jared Gilman should get an Academy Award. His character makes sense to me.

B. Kara Hayward is amazing in this movie and should also get an Academy Award. I want her raven costume.

C. The soundtracks to his films are all amazing.

D. Wes Anderson is a really amazing Director. (Rushmore,The Royal TenenbaumsThe Life Aquatic with Steve ZissouFantastic Mr. FoxThe Darjeeling Limited )

E. I love this shot.

F. Sometimes I feel like a Wes Anderson movie. That seems like something a hipster would say. Here is something a hipster would  not say. GO FUCK A BASEBALL BAT WITH LUBE BITCH!

G. My favorite line from the movie is…. “I love you but you have no idea what you are talking about.”

H. Tilda Swinton is brilliant just being alive. She also could be a witch in real life.

I. I love films that use a some sort of disaster as a backdrop.

J. Charlie Kilgore as Lazy Eye made too much sense. Sometimes you lose a fuckin eye.

K. Sometimes true love means running the fuck away. I hope I can have a love as real as theirs one day.

L. Françoise Hardy “Le Temps De L’amour” from the soundtrack.

M. This poster is cluttered but fun.

5 responses to ““Moonrise Kingdom” or “Kids in Love on an Island”- my fuckin review.

  1. I wanted to wait until I saw this before reading your review. I enjoyed it, and it’s good to see that you liked it as well.I would not have pegged you as a Wes Anderson fan. I like your review because it’s honest, and nothing is spoiled, so one could read this before they watch Moonrise Kingdom.

  2. Pingback: The Best Films of 2012! | EDDIE RAY BREAKS THAT SHIT DOWN!

Leave a Reply

