“Paranorman” or “Ghosts, Zombies, Witches, Comedy and Honest Emotions”- my fuckin review

Here is my review for “ParaNorman” I hope you enjoy. Okay so this stop-motion animated movie is about a boy who lives in a town that thinks he’s “weird”, “different” or not “normal”. His name is Norman and he can talk to, and see ghosts and shit. He is a loner and his family doesn’t understand him or his love for horror movies. He loves horror because he can relate to it because he can see ghosts and scary shit all day. He later meets up with another picked on kid that is fat named Neil and they become friends. The town that they live in hung a witch 300 years ago and now has a curse that she put on it which causes the dead (ZOMBIES) to come back to life and makes some fucked up shit pop off. Now Norman, Neil, Neil Brother’s Mitch, Norman’s sister Courtney and the town bully Alvin have to work together to save the day from zombies and a witch. The cool part is all this is not what you think. This movie is cool, smart and funny. It makes an amazing and relevant point about bullying and being different in society and how those people are treated, and how those people should treat themselves. This film shows the audience being different is normal and cool. Being different should be praised and pissed on. Be it black, white, gay, straight, fat, or weird. This movie really did make me emotional because I felt like Norman as kid and I’m sure a lot of people will relate to different characters in this film, and in a way no one is the bad guy. They are just people trying to understand each other and live together. This movie is a must see. If you love horror, zombies, ghosts, witches, comedy, stop-motion animation, real talk, honest characters, an inventive payoff, a point, action, and maybe even some tears go see this fuckin movie today! In 3D. It made me happy. I will buy this movie on Blu ray.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. This movie didn’t treat the audience like they were idiots. It was honest and told it like it was. It was real and relevant.

B. I felt like Norman as a kid. I was considered a weird kid, cuz of things I liked or said.  The way I dressed, etc. I thought I was normal until the world and my family told me otherwise. Sometimes I felt lonely and lost, but I grew up and I realized that what the world considered “weird” or “different” is what helped me to make a lot of cool friends, to write and direct films, to work at Universal Music and now work at Adult Swim Cartoon Network.  Haha I think people still view me as weird or queer, but fuck em, I keep it real. You should too. 🙂

Me as a kid, notice the bat decoration on my bedroom door.

C. This film is about bullying but on grander scale and what it could cause and what it could solve.

D. The voice of Norman was performed by Kodi Smit-McPhee (Let Me In).

E. Don’t just take your kids to see this, take your ass to see this and I bet you learn something too.

F. Norman’s family. I loved the mother’s head.

G. The filmmakers talk about themselves and the film in this clip.

H. This poster is fuckin amazing.

I. “There’s nothing wrong with being scared, so long as you don’t let it change who you are”.

J. This is a picture of the billboard in the town they live in. BRILLIANT!

K. This shit was made for me, and reminded me of the fun I had watching “Monster House“.

L. The score was amazing by Jon Brion. Listen to the opening track. It sounds like an 80’s horror movie. AMAZING as FUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

M. There is a character in this movie that talks about being gay at one point. IN A KIDS MOVIE! What is interesting is what character it is, and how open he is with it and how much of issue in the film it is NOT. This is the way it should be in the real world.

N. I want Paranorman toys now!!!!!!!!

O. They played the song “Little Ghost” by White Stripes in the end credits, which I loved.

P. I WANT THIS POSTER NOW!

5 responses to ““Paranorman” or “Ghosts, Zombies, Witches, Comedy and Honest Emotions”- my fuckin review

  1. Cant wait to get that ParaNorman poster ! Do you happen to know the name of the rap song that they are breakdancing to in the movie?

  2. Pingback: The Best Films of 2012! | EDDIE RAY BREAKS THAT SHIT DOWN!

Leave a Reply

