“Sinister” or “Get Outta My Pool Bughuul”- my fuckin review.

Here is my review for “Sinister“. Okay so the movie starts off with a happy and boring ass family moving into a new house that happens to be the same house where a fucked up murder took place, but before you jump their shit the dad (Ethan Hawke) knows about it. He writes true crimes books and wants to write about that sinister ass shit that happened there. He has a wife, a son and a daughter. They are all annoying and boring. The first thing Ethan does is puts on this horrible old man sweater then begins writing his book. In the attic he finds and a projector with some film reels the killer has left behind, so he makes some popcorn and a drink and watches them. Each film has a different families fucked up murder on it and in the background is this long-haired demon hanging out called Bughuul. He is all peeping out of bushes, and underwater in pools and in each of the films. Ethan then starts hearing loud ass scary noises in the house that somehow only he can hear. He even falls through the attic and his family doesn’t hear it. What the fuck! Then he and his wife argue about annoying shit. Later some supposedly creepy ghost kids show up running around in slow motion that I am supposed to be afraid of but I am not. Ethan argues with his wife again, and his kids act weird and boring some more. In then end he finally takes his sweater off and something predictable happens and all the kids go to Bughuul School. Okay this movie was a let down. The families murder movies were creepy but that was it. The demon Bughuul is hardly in it, and Ethan and his sweater are all over it. The cast is boring and forgettable. I wanted everyone to die. I laughed when I saw Bughuul in the pool and I said “Get outta my pool Bughuul” out loud in the theater. I do however love the score, but it couldn’t save this movie. So if you like somewhat creepy movies that might come on the SYFY Channel starring Ethan Hawke who is watching movies about a demon who has white paint on his face then this movie is for you. It was not for me. Sorry Bughuul you are not cool, but you make good death films.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Kids trying to act scary is not scary. It’s a joke and the joke is on you.

B. Bughuul School- Class in session! Don’t be a fool stay in Bughuul School!

C. I have never ran outside due to a strange noise.

D. If there is a demon after you a baseball bat ain’t going to do shit you bitch.

E. The Director Scott Derrickson also made “The Exorcism of Emily Rose“. Which I liked.

F. Take that fuckin sweater off.

G. Stop watching snuff films. They will get you into trouble.

H. Bughuul holding a brat. So what who cares. Get a hair cut.

I. I wish this movie was called “SIN IS HIS STAR”.

J. The score was the best part by Christopher Young. Here is a track! I love his music and this score.

K. A family dangling from a tree. I want to take this picture for my Christmas card this year. Amazing.


L. Wait who is this girl in the poster?

59 thoughts on ““Sinister” or “Get Outta My Pool Bughuul”- my fuckin review.

  1. I was curious about this because Ethan Hawke is typically in watchable movies, but I don’t think I would want to root for anyone who wears that sweater. It’s not even ironic like a Cosby sweater, it’s just shitty. Thanks for the warning on this one.

  2. Wasn’t perfect, but yet, it wasn’t all that bad either. I had a great time when it would just scare me for fun, but still feel deserved and not one of those typical, cheap ones we see in so many crappy horror movies of today. Nice review.

  3. This review was in pretty bad taste, obviously somebody with better journalistic abilities needs to take over for these reviews. All i’m seeing is a bit of rage, cursing, and an idiot with the access to the internet. Don’t waste my time with your petty analytic abilities when this movie was actually really good. So what if his sweater sucked, $5 says your mother dressed you poorly and you kept a knack from it too.

  4. Movie wasn’t as bad as you say. You’re right though about the “scary” kids. The parts with the children should have belonged with the deleted scenes. And that cheap trick when Bughuul appears suddenly left or right of the screen was very cheesy. If all those scenes weren’t in the movie, it would’ve been a great story. The home made movies were creepy as hell! I’d give a 10/10 if Bughuul was a serial killer.

  5. You’re an ignorant peice of shit. That movie was great. Get off your fucking computer and let’s see you make a better movie douche bag.

  6. Just because you have a speck on IMBD does not make you a great writer of movie reviews, which might I add is what is in question here. Not your ability to direct or write for magazines. I think your reviews are in bad taste.

  7. As soon as I heard some guy posted his opinion online I ran home from work to comment. However later I remembered you can’t argue with opinion. I liked the start of this movie, it had a creepy feel to it. The sweater was a good choice as well, it tricked you into rooting for the demon at times. Thing that bugged me, when the power goes out I check the fuse box, not go play hide and seek with possible demons in the attic with a flashlight. I don’t know how the demon could eat kids with a mouth though.. maybe we got the story in reverse and he is actually a catholic priest?

      • I thought the murder scenes were sadistic and cruel, very interesting .. very awesome, the demon could have shown up a little more and the plot was kinda poor .. i wanted everyone to die but the ending was sort of a let down.. i wanted to see a severed head.. more screaming more terrifying shit. Great review i plan to read more in the future.

  8. I think ending is not really good.it’s something that I only think . 🙂 ..I thought the they will be saved … it’s tragic …. Sorry Daddy —

  9. I think you wrote a freakin awesome review, man. It had its few moments where it scared the hell out of me, such as when Ethan is raising his head up into the attic to get a sneak peak of Bughuul School, and Bughuul ends up right in front of him. And those home movies were creepy as hell. Well, pretty much the only creepy one was when Bughuul was in the pool and that lawnmower one. The lawnmower is just moving and that BAM somebody’s getting their head mowed. Yeah, I got spooked, but when I watch a scary movie, I want to have that spooked feeling for damn near the whole movie, not just a few parts. And this movie definitely only had a few creepy parts. Oh, and that sweater…it would have been fine for just one scene, but I kept finding myself yelling at him to take the damn thing off after the 3rd scene it was in. I was also yelling at Ethan to change t-shirts, because I feel that he was in that “Bennington College” or whatever college t-shirt for like the first 30 minutes of the film. Thanks for a great review man!

  10. LOL! You’re an ass… I LIKE IT!
    I thought the movie was cool. >Wondering what the movie would be like if Bughuul was a Rasta.. “Mr. Boogie, Mahn”<
    Hilarious review.

  11. #SN
    “It’s OK, daddy. I’ll make you famous again.” In MY family, the tape would have stopped, daddy would have given me an eyebrow up, freed himself from the bondage and slapped the taste out my mouth for being a smart ass. And THEN the movie would continue. Meh, I take movies seriously. Shoot me.

    • Yeap, then I would have been sent outside to ” find a switch” … Some of you know what I’m talking about.. It better be a good switch, too.. Or they go pick one….

  12. Stop getting butt hurt you turds. People acting like this guy slapped their kid and called them morons. The movie was eh at best. Little bit o’ scary, and a whole lotta cheesy. Your review was choked full of wonderful smart assery, and I enjoyed reading it

  13. Just finished watching this one because a friend of mine saw it at the $2 Theater (on $1 movie Tuesdays) and said it was entertaining. Honestly (aside from the really FUCKED UP “Home Movies”) the only thing that got a stir out of me was the score. The rest was so predictable I kept finding myself thinking about other movies I’d watch that pulled the same things off but more effectively. Maybe we’re all just jaded and used to crazy shit after years of cinematographic envelope pushing? I dunno, anyways, spot on review; the movie wasn’t heinous but I sure as shit wouldn’t spend money to see it.
    Side note: it did manage to get me curious about Headmaster Boogie and whether or not he’s an actual deity. Guess that’s something?

  14. I saw this last night and I thought it was better than most commercial horror movies these days, but it didn’t make it good. It seemed to borrow a little from The Ring. I haven’t seen Ringu but The Ring was stupid. Ellison’s character seemed to borrow from The Shining, at least that cardigan could have come from that decade. Like everyone says the home movies were the only really compelling part. Ellison’s character wasn’t developed enough to make his choices believable. Something Stephen King (and later Kubrick) got right was Jack’s dissent.
    What’s with the bad endings in movies today? Just like Insidious, I felt the movie should have ended a good 5 minutes earlier. It feels like if the protagonists don’t die in modern horror films the public won’t accept it into the genre or something? You don’t have to kill off your heroes, guys.

    As for your review, I can’t believe people kept reading after “my fuckin review” and then were surprised at the content. This is obviously a style of reviewing that’s for laughs and I thought it was hilarious.

    • Thanks, I just try to have fun and sound like I do watching them. haha I did like all the home movies. They were creepy. Those kids were not though. They just needed a spanking and no TV. hahaha

  15. Movie blows! 2 hours of Ethan Hawke fumbling in the darkness. I was literally yelling at the tv, “Turn on a light switch, ASSOLE!!!”

  16. I really liked this movie. it had its flaws but meh whatever. i feel like it was alot more scary thinking it was a killer. the ghost children ruined the scare! i did like how i thought the boy would be the crazy one because of the night terrors. also the ending i was like “what the fuck?” so yeah all in all good review. im not that picky when watching movies and i did laugh. to each their own i supose.

  17. Lol. Funny review. I didnt think it was that bad. Def. back and forth scary/boring…which actually was the reason i jumped at some scenes. The music was pretty creepy and bughuul himself was pretty scary, though im not a huge fan of horror/gorey films. I dont like “bloody”scenes. More like a 6th sense and the ring kinda taste, so gore tends to scare me regardless. I was hoping it was going to be a screwed up serial killer kind of deal but i had a feeling it would end the way it did…all horror films are predictable that way. It def would have been cooler with a surprise twist ending…but only the typical horror movie ending 😦 id give it a 6-7 stars. But i like your humor in your review. We are all entitled to our opinions…dont be hatin’ yall.

      • You have a small blurb on imdb. Very unimpressive. I chat with real stars of the horror genre…look at Doug Jones, that is an Imdb to be proud of. Your review is your own opinion, and I can respect that. What is not respectable is your ability to trash talk the fans who replied to your review. Also inadequate is your inability to take criticism without automatically trying to brag about the fact that you get published in magazines. Trust me Eddie, if I was in your position and mg imdb page was that weak, I would not be trash talking fans or posting the link to a page that looks like you wrote it yourself. I have friends that are real talents, authors, record producers, and actors. Also my father, brother and myself are all better writers than you. Both my father and my brother are published and have recieved awards for their writing, and my historical papers are still being used to teach college students what good writing is. I will not and do not identfy myself for fear of your “retaliation” but rather because I was raised to be modest about my achievements. Think a little before you trash talk your fans, even if they spoke poorly of you first. You are in a position of dignity, so show it.

  18. Ooph, I’ve just finished the movie after many smoking & whiskey breaks. I guess as I get older I’m more easily scared 🙂 Damn, I was scared like a ten year old 😀 I was able to watch the whole movie only after I made myself presentable to Bughuul (in other words a seriously drunk). I envy your nerves, Mr Eddie 🙂 Cheers!

  19. WELL I’AM NOT AT ALL HAPPY OR ENTERTAINED BY YOUR REVIEW OF THE MOVIE”SINISTER” . I THOUGHT THE MOVIE WAS AWESOME AND IT SCARED THE SHIT OUT OF ME! I LOVED ETHAN HAWKE INWHAT IS NOW TO DATE HIS FIRST AND ONLY HORROR FILM THAT HE HAS DONE. I SURELY HOPE TO SEE HIM IN OTHERS AND I SURE AS HELL THOUGHT THAT SWEATER DID THE TRICK CONVINCING US THAT HE WAS A TRUE CRIME WRITER TRYING TO GET THAT 1 MORE TIME FEELING , OF WHAT EVERY WRITER , ACTOR ETC., ETC. WANTS , ANOTHER BIGGGG HITTTTT! I CANT BELIEVE WHAT YOU SAID ABOUT THE SWEATER , WHEN IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT IT DID THE TRICK IN CONVINCING US ALL OF JUST THAT , WELL EVERYONE BUT YOU! I SUGGEST THAT THE NEXT TIME YOU TRY TO CRITIZE A VERY WELL KNOWN ACTOR, YOU DON’T !!! AND AS FAR AS THE SUPPORTING ACTORS BEING BORING , WELL THATS WHY THEY ARE CALLED “SUPPORTING ACTORS” ! ITS MOST LIKELY THE MOTHERS,SONS AND DAUGHTERS 1ST TIME ON THE BIG SCREEN AND I THINK THEY DID A GREAT JOB! I DO HOWEVER AGREE WITH ONE THING THAT YOU AND OTHERS HAVE SAID, THAT IS THAT WE ALL WISH THAT MORE OF “BUGHUUL” WAS SEEN IN THE MOVIE. BUT THEN AGAIN ,TOO MUCH OF A GREAT THING CAN BE THE DEATH OF A REALLY GREAT HORROR MOVIE ,LIKE THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE DONT TRY TO CRITICIZE A HORROR FLICK WHEN YOU OBVIOUSLY DON’T KNOW WHAT THE HELL YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT!AND BY THE WAY HOW DARE YOU RUIN THE WHOLE DAMN MOVIE PLOT WITH YOUR COMMENTS. I’M SURPRISED THAT YOU DIDN’T HAVE ANYTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT VINCENT D’ONOFRIO OR WHAT HE WAS WEARING,PROBABLY BECAUSE HE WOULD HAVE CAME OUT OF THE SCREEN LIKE BUGHUUL DID AND KICKED YOUR FUCKING ASS!!!

    • Haha thanks for reading and writing such a long response. You should write movie reviews too, clearly you have a lot to say. Then people can attack you for liking it.

    • To Rose (and anyone else who found fault with this review), lighten up and take your meds. Clearly you fail to grasp the concept of satire. What did you expect when you decided to read a review called “get out of the pool bughuul”? If you were looking for something dry and serious, go read the NY Times. But this was not only a solid review, but possibly one of the most hilarious things I’ve read in a long time. People with a sense of humor got the point; i personally like my reviews light and sarcastic. And Eddy Ray found himself a very big fan.

  20. Once you pronounce the name “BUGHUUL” as “bug-hole” the movie takes on a whole new meaning.. An eternal Demon dependent on an indestructible super 8 film (which could still be cut and edited) and projector stored in an indestructible cardboard box is kinda lame. What happens when all the murders are written on the inside of the box lid and they run out of space. In the Sequel does Bug-hole upgrade to a digital camera powered by spirit batteries? Lame!

  21. Try squeezing and relaxing your hands on the wheel
    and repeat until you begin to feel calmer.
    But the first thing to do is to realize that they are nothing to be ashamed of.
    You will never forget the first time it happened and
    you remember exactly when you had your last one.

  22. No horror movies ever really give me a scare, a jump here and there, but a true scare, i just don’t get that feeling. The movie Sinister really got to me. Something about it from beginning to end rooted like a seed deep within me and really freaked me out. I loved the tragic ending! Too many movies have a happy ending which makes it predictable. I loved this movie from start to finish. I do agree that bughuul could have been scarier looking, the whole thing with the paint on his face really didn’t make sense. However, I liked that he wasn’t in the movie more because I felt his appearances had more of an impact that way. For me, this movie was one of the creepiest I’ve seen in a very long time. I watched it by myself in the dark and it really got in my brain to the point I even had bad dreams that night when I went to sleep. Lol! But that’s only my opinion.

  23. I don’t know why he didn’t freak out about 500% times more when he found a FUCKING SCORPION in his attic. YOU JUST MOVED TO PENNSYLVANIA. YOU COMMENT ON HOW COLD IT IS. THERE SHOULD BE NO SCORPIONS. FUCKING SCORPIONS IN YOUR ATTIC!!!! Scariest part of the entire movie I swear to god.

  24. Yeah?? Who is that girl in the poster?? And instead of holding a bat why not a crucifix or a cross ?

    But I’m not a spoiler . I love this movie .

  25. Come on guys ?! Let’s not be like this. U don’t like this I don’t like this. Let’s not be a movie spoiler. The director tried very hard for this film and our change is to say silly things to Scott derrickson ? What if you guys are being teased or being spoiled ? What’s ur reaction? “I want to die people hated me ” so if you don’t want that to happen to you don’t do it to others .

  26. Okay, so you don’t like the movie, I get it. So come on, tell me a story so I can shit my pants cause looks like you know better than everybody. Anyway, what scary movies did you like? Cause doesn’t seem to me that you can actually like something.

Leave a Reply

