“Cloud Atlas” or “Human Connect the Dots”- my fuckin review

Here is my review for “Cloud Atlas“.  Okay lets talk about the filmmakers for minute first. It took three directors to make this because it was so fuckin big. Tom Tykwer (Run Lola RunLana Wachowski (The Matrix moviesAndy Wachowski (The Matrix movies). Lana used to be a man and is now a woman and I only say this because all directors include part of their own lives in their films in some ways and they should. She brings an amazing perspective to the mix, that another director would have over looked. Okay so the movie has 6 different stories across 6 different timeframes. They are all interwoven together throughout the entire movie so your ass had better pay attention. The movie is really about how all these humans are connected throughout time. That the actions of one person in the past will affect people in the present and future. The first story is about a lawyer (Jim Sturgess) in the early 1800’s whose family is in the slave trade business. He befriends a slave (David Gyasi) and his opinions change, and he writes about it in a journal that a character in the second story reads. In the second story a wannabe composer (Ben Whishaw), who is homosexual, moves in with an aging composer to learn and write his own composition. He writes letters to his lover and friend Rufus Sixmith (James D’Arcy) while reading the journal of the lawyer from 1800’s. The third story involves reporter Luisa Rey (Halle Berry) who meets and older Rufus Sixmith by chance and tries to help him to help others at a nuclear power plant. They get into trouble and the chase is on. The fourth story is set in 2012 about a man named Timothy Cavendish. He is sent/locked away in an old folks home and is treated like a prisoner there and plans his escape. Later he writes a book about his escape. The fifth story line is about a girl named Sonmi-451 who is a clone that is bred to work in a fast food restaurant in the future in new Korea called Neo Seoul. She exists only to serve people food day in and day out, until one day she wakes from her sleep and learns she is and can be more than just a servant. The sixth story is about a man named Zachry (Tom Hanks) who lives in a boot leg ass post-apocalyptic version of that futuristic Korea. Neo Seoul has been swallowed by the sea and a women named Meronym (also Halle Berry) comes to his village to get his help. She wants to be taken across the mountains to an abandoned faciality to see if it is still working to help better her people. I tried to dance around not telling you what every story was about in-depth so as not to give anything away. This movie really is about connection and how humans connect to one another. Not just in the film but in reality as well. I loved this movie. Yes it was grand and honestly a broad brush stroke across the screen (I know that sounds cheesy but it was the first thing I thought while watching it). Which can be dangerous, but I see it as ballzy. These Directors said fuck it, we know it’s big and all over the place but let’s try to tell it. I thought they did a great job, and by the end I felt for all the characters and I was crying for some of them. The film really does take a minute to get into but once you are into it you will ride this huge ass ride. The stories do cut back and forth through time, but I think the filmmakers wanted you to understand that humans keep doing the same things over and over again throughout history. Growing, loving and even hurting one another in the hopes that you would learn something. This film really does make you think about your own life, not even just today but how it will be perceived later in the future. Will people look you like an asshole or did you help someone? I think the film tries to tell you that your life is bigger than you realize and that it affects others throughout time in good ways and in bad ways. A lot of the actors play multiple roles in the film, which is interesting to me and helps make you feel like they are sort of reborn in different timeframes as different people. It also shocked me that this movie is Rated R and that there is violence, nudity and cursing in it. I guess I just wasn’t expecting that. I’m glad though because it made the film feel honest and real to me. I was also surprised that one of the main characters that is in a big budget Hollywood film was a gay male, and that they handled it so honestly. Anyway this movie never came across cheesy to me and I really did walk away from it wanting to see it again, and so that I could understand it even more. You should check it out with an open mind. So if you love big epic stories, love stories, Science fiction movies, action movies, understanding yourself and humanity, and Tom Hanks and Halle Berry go see this movie. I will buy this movie on Blu Ray and probably see it again in the theater.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. I really enjoyed this movie and I am still thinking about it days later.

B. Living in Neo Seoul.

C. I love how all the stories connect in basic ways. I think humanity really does connect in this way. Just quietly sometimes.

D. There was an asian version of Keith David.

E. Ben Whishaw and James D’Arcy in love. Ben is an actor to watch out for he is also in the new James Bond movie as “Q”.

F. “Our lives are not our own. From womb to tomb, we are bound to others. Past and present. And by each crime, and every kindness, we birth our future.” – Sonmi-451

G. The directors- Andy Wachowski, left, Lana Wachowski, center, and Tom Tykwer.

H. Sonmi-451 trying to escape. RUN GURL!

I. The score was pretty amazing too. Check out a sample here. The score was composed by Reinhold HeilJohnny KlimekTom Tykwer.

J. I love this line from the film. I also hope this shit is true.

K. I hope in the future someone will watch a film I made and laughs and it inspires them to make people laugh. 🙂

L. Seriously go see this movie.

M. This poster has a lot going on but I guess the movie does too.

5 thoughts on ““Cloud Atlas” or “Human Connect the Dots”- my fuckin review

  1. Well I’d see just for the Asian version of Keith David. Great review Eddie Ray, I’ll tweet this out there. I have been curious about this movie, but have shied away from it with it being Hollywood produced, it could go real wrong, and be a long, boring, waste of time and money. I’m psyched to see it now.
    You might want to check out a film with a similar theme called Love, I really enjoyed it.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1541874/

Leave a Reply

