“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” or “1990’s Three Way Of Love”- my fuckin review

Here is my review for “The Perks of Being a Wallflower“.  The movie starts out with this shy nerd (wallflower) named Charlie (Logan Lerman) who is beginning High School with no friends. His sister will not even sit with his ass. He eventually befriends Patrick (Ezra Miller), who is gay and secretly dating the head of the football team and his step sister is Sam (Emma Watson). They all three become good friends because they are all outcasts (wallflowers). It’s 1991-92 so that is why. The same kids today would be considered cool and hipsters. Charlie is into Sam, but she is dating another dude. Throughout the film Charlie is dealing with his first love, his best friends suicide, his own mental illness and trying to fit into this new group of friends. This is no teen comedy! It was pretty real and emotional. This was a year in the life of three teenagers and how they live and love each other. This film is not just for 17 years olds but to remind you what you were like at 17. How things can change so fast in a day or in a year, and how that is not always a bad thing. To remind you of your friends and family and how you perceived or perceive the world. Also how to make a mix tape. I guess I thought this movie was going to be forced and pretentious, but it was not. I enjoyed it and I would watch it again. I believed the three main actors were good friends in the film and I wondered what their lives would be like when the filmed ended. I think most people who watch the movie will relate to at least one of these characters or at least a mix of all three. Give this movie a chance you may find out you like it more than you think. So if you like Ezra Miller, Emma Watson, Teen dramas, the 90’s, being in love, David Bowie, be emotional, gay football players on the hide and being wallflowers then this movie is for you. I enjoyed it and would watch it again.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. This movie takes place in 1991 and 1992.

B. Ezra Miller makes sense in everything. He is one of the better actors of this generation.

PerksEzra_620_092112

C. It was written and directed by Stephen Chbosky. He also wrote the TV show “Jericho“.

D. Someone told me I should be on the “Island of Misfit Toys” once like in the movie. It hurt my feelings though.

E. Logan Lerman did a good job as the quiet boy who didn’t fit in. It wasn’t forced or over-the-top.

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-charlie-e1352148119375

F. Young Neil (Johnny Simmons) from “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” plays the football player Patrick is in love with.

G. I dance at parties even if nobody is dancing. I am not a wallflower or if I am I don’t give a shit.

H. Tom Savini plays the shop teacher.

I. They played this at a party in the movie. True. I love this song.

J. You might cry watching this.

K. Emma Watson is flying. I am glad she is out of that Potter shit and taking serious roles.

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-13-600x337-e1352147668919

L. You might laugh watching this.

M. The characters did not know this song by David Bowie in the movie. I didn’t know a lot of Davie Bowie tracks when I was young too though. When I did hear this shit I loved it though.

N. Somebody make me a fuckin mix tape!

O. It’s green.

The-Perks-of-Being-a-Wallflower-poster

Leave a Reply

