“V/H/S/2” or “These Tapes Are Not That Fun”- my fuckin review

Here is my review for “V/H/S/2“. Get ready for 5 new short VHS horror tapes, only 2 are fun and entertaining though. The first story is the main tape itself which is just there so that you can watch the other VHS tapes. The first tape (“Phase I Clinical Trials”) is pretty predictable and hokey and is about a guy who gets a camera for an eyeball and now he can see ghosts and shit. The ghosts aren’t scary though. That shit looked like Party City makeup. The second tape (“A Ride in the Park”) is about a guy riding a bike in a park and he is filming his ride and gets attacked by zombies. It’s inventive, but who cares about the point of view of a zombie.  Not me jelly bean. The thirds tape (“Safe Haven”) is about a camera crew going to film a cult and it’s leader about how they live. This one is serious and creepy, and gets to the point with a fucked up bloody cult. Think a nightmare version of Jim Jones. The fourth tape (“Slumber Party Alien Abduction”) is about these kids and teens having a slumber party and aliens come to abduct them. I loved this one, it was scary and fun. I even love the title. This one made sense to me and made me laugh. This is the best VHS tape in “V/H/S/2”. Okay so honestly I enjoyed part ones (“V/H/S“) tapes better, they were more fun to watch than the second set of tapes. It feels like part 2 was over thought. It felt like they lost the fun of this concept, except for “Slumber Party Alien Abduction”. You will not be scared watching these or that mind blown over them and if you saw the first one and liked it, you may not like the 2nd one, but if you hated part 1 then you may dig the structure of part 2 more. So if you love VHS tapes, a couple of scares, aliens, ghosts, cults, and blood then this is the movie for you. I own part 1 and will not buy part 2.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Simon Barrett  directed segment “Tape 49”  (“V/H/S “). It was basically just a chick watching tapes.

-VHS2

B. Jason Eisener directed segment “Slumber Party Alien Abduction” (The ABCs of Death (“Y Is for Youngbuck”), Hobo with a Shotgun). This is the best segment or tape in this entire film. It’s fun, crazy and scary. Aliens abducting your ass is creepy as fuck! Loved it.

VHS 2 pic3 slumber party

C. Gareth Evans and Timo Tjahjanto directed segment “Safe Haven”. This one is serious, interesting and creepy. Very Jim jones. I liked it.

V_H_S_2_36298

D. Eduardo Sánchez and Gregg Hale directed segment “A Ride in the Park”. This one seemed like it should have been on Youtube. It was just cute.

VHS2_Sanchez_5_30_13

E. Adam Wingard directed segment “Phase I Clinical Trials”. This one bored me, it felt like another movie I watched. The ghosts were cheesy and the plot was weak and boring.

VHS_2_Wingard_1_5_13_13

F. I hope I get kidnapped by aliens.

G. Tobe Hooper directed a segment of the movie “Body Bags” called “Eye”. It’s a story about a baseball player who gets a new eye and sees fucked up shit and murders and such. So it’s a little too similar to Phase I Clinical Trials”.

H. This should have been the poster. It was like teaser poster early on for it.

s-vhs_-sundance-250x350

I. Sometimes witty zombie stories aren’t enough.

J. If your ghosts look like Party City, then they are not scary, neither is your movie.

K. Here is my VHS tape from when I was little. HAHA

L. Here is the real poster. It’s cute.

VHS2-POSTER

One response to ““V/H/S/2” or “These Tapes Are Not That Fun”- my fuckin review

  1. Pingback: John’s Horror Corner: V/H/S 2 (2013), another mixed bag horror anthology that’s worth a look for the adventurous | Movies, Films & Flix

Leave a Reply

