“The Sacrament” or “The Jim Jones Story And That’s It” – my fuckin review

Here is my review for “The Sacrament“. Okay “Vice” goes to investigate this religious cult in the jungle. This dude who is in charge there looks and acts like Jim Jones and is called “Father”. It turns out that things there aren’t so happy and in the end everyone drinks Kool-Aid and dies. Ummmmmmm yeah so this film is just the Jim Jones Story, except they added in “Vice” to update it. What? Let me first start off by saying I love Ti West‘s other films (The House of the DevilThe InnkeepersTrigger ManThe Roost) and I even own them. I think he is an interesting director and I enjoy his films. I even love the story of Jim Jones because that shit is scary as fuck and it really happened. So I didn’t like this movie because it was literally that story. No twists and no turns. Just different names for the characters. What was original about this movie if it’s just the Jim Jones story? Why not just tell the Jim Jones story? In the film a hundred or so people died. In real life it was 918 people. Which is scarier? UMMMM 918 bitches dead. Also this is found footage film which I am fine with, but what is weird is that there is loud dramatic score playing throughout it. Ummmm found footage with a big score? Did someone find this footage and add score to it? It seemed weird and out-of-place in the film, that’s why I am bringing it up. Meanwhile I even asked a few people who were different ages if they knew who Jim Jones was. Most knew and when I added the Kool-Aid cult dude to it then everyone knew who he was. So maybe if you are 17 and under you may not know who Jim Jones was and this will scare you. It did not scare me and I’m disappointed, and I was excited to see it.  After the film I just wanted to go home and watch a documentary on the real Jim Jones. Check out Ti’s other films and you will not be let down. I am curious what he says about this movie.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. hahaha VICE.

B. Gene Jones plays Jim Jones in the movie. It should have been played by John Goodman though. Or the Kool-Aid man.

The-Sacrament

john-goodman-18th-annual-critics-choice-movie-awards-03
John Goodman

Kool_Aid_Man

C. The real story of Jim Jones is scarier and it’s real. Here is the real Jim Jones.

JIM JONES
The Real Jim Jones

D. Here is a clip from another Jim Jones movie. You will see this movie was already made.

E. Here is a documentary about the real Jim Jones. It’s scarier than this movie.

F. This is the brand and flavor that the real Jim Jones used to kill everyone. I would have drank it too. It looks good.

7791757416_1cf817395f_c

G. Joe Swanberg (V/H/S) and AJ Bowen (The House of the DevilThe Signal) were the stars of the movie.

H. Here is a pic of Director Ti West.

Screen Shot 2014-05-09 at 12.07.58 PM

H. This poster is weird.

the-sacrament-691x1024

 

Leave a Reply

