“Big Eyes” or “Simple Eyes”- my fuckin review

Here is my review for “Big Eyes“. This movie is based on a true story. It begins in the 1950’s with painter Margaret Keane (Amy Adams) who painted all the “Big Eyes” paintings. She gets married to Christoph Waltz who pretends he is the painter of the “Big Eyes” paintings. He is a real shit head. He takes all the credit. The movie is about their relationship revolving around these paintings. Eventually they all end up in court over it. Okay so I liked this film but didn’t love it. Tim Burton directed it and lately his films feel like they are on repeat. Insert Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter and mix with Danny Elfman and call it day. This movie doesn’t feel like those. Thank god. It’s quieter, simpler and weirder at times. Nothing ever feels in your face or cheesy. It’s really just a quiet interesting story and a departure from his work as of late. I liked it but it’s seemed to quiet for me. Even Amy Adams character speaks quietly in the film. Christoph Waltz is great in everything as always and is the most over-the-top thing in the movie. I’m glad Tim is trying to branch out from himself. At this point he is a characterization of himself. For instance I can say a film looks “Burtonized” and you will know what I am talking about. This film doesn’t feel that way which is good. Even Danny Elfman’s score doesn’t sound like the normal Tim Burtony sounding Danny Elfman score.  So if you want to see film that is not Burtonized, love the “Big Eyes” paintings, and love Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz then you will dig this movie. It’s an interesting story just very simple and quiet. It’s a one time watch. 

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. She was great in this because she is understated.

1406919919000-XXX-FIRSTLOOK-BIGEYES-01-66181054

B. I wish it was called “Big Ass” and they were paintings of big asses.

D. Tim Burton your hair is rude.

85th Academy Awards - Nominees Luncheon - People.com Portrait Gallery

E. The 50’s and 60’s sets looked great.

F. Krysten Ritter is cool.

PANews BT_N0152121371036309932A_I1

G. Lana Del Rey’s song “I can fly” was in it. I like it.

H. Everyone should have looked like this in it.

bigeyes_burton

I. I like the poster.

Big-Eyes-movie-poster

 

One response to ““Big Eyes” or “Simple Eyes”- my fuckin review

Leave a Reply

