“The Guest” or “Terminator Mary Poppins” my fuckin review

Here is my review for “The Guest“. This movie begins with this dude named David who looks like he is a model, but he is really in the military. He goes to visit this family claiming to the best friend of their dead son. He ends up staying as a guest with the family and then people start dying. Everyone would let him stay as a guest cuz look at his fucking eyes. They suck you in and off.

IHoGd

In the end there really is no ending. Okay so I liked this movie, but I didn’t love it. There are so many cool things that are in this movie. Dan Stevens (David) is great in it and really is cool and creepy. The rest of the cast is pretty fun. The soundtrack and score are amazing and it has a John Carpenter feel to it. The film takes place during Halloween, and all the sets have pumpkins in it. They even end up at a Halloween dance. It’s shot well and looks great. The big problem is it never goes anywhere. Obviously the Director Adam Wingard is modeling this film after different movies from the 70’s and 80’s (HalloweenThe Terminator), but it’s 2014 and that shit doesn’t work as well today as it did back then. This film lacks a punch or even something original in the story. You kept wishing this or that would happen for a twist or surprise or something fun. It just ends. I have found that if I am in a movie and wishing that something else was happening that means I am bored with the story that they have written. It just seems basic. I wish he would have been a robot, or their real son with a facelift, or David was sent by their dead son to kill his family. Hell anything. They really don’t tell you anything, but that he was part of a military program. That’s it. Not enough. I bet most of you will feel the same way. Adam W. also directed a movie called “You’re Next” (Here is my review of that film “You’re Next” or “When Stupid Ass Rich White People Get Attacked”- my fuckin review). Which I didn’t like because it felt like it was made in the 90’s and left you wanting something more. Cool idea, but it never really went anywhere. Maybe it’s the writer of both films fault (Simon Barrett). I hope they realize that need these films need something extra to be great movie. They are on the right path and let’s hope they get there. So if you love 80’s throwbacks, Halloween, a great synth soundtrack, and story that never goes anywhere then this is the movie for you. I had fun watching it and wanted to love it but couldn’t. It’s worth the watch for sure. Just don’t expect a pay off at the end. 

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Dan Stevens was great in this movie. He was fun and spooky. His eyes will molest you. Honestly I didn’t see what the problem was because he was just helping this family out the whole time until shit hit the fan. He was like a terminator Mary Poppins. Flew into help them and then left. 

dan-gunHey guest, where’s your shirt bitch?

DanStevens_TheGuest_shirtless

B. The score was composed by Steve Moore and it was great. The soundtrack was also amazing. Here is one of the songs from the soundtrack.

C. It takes place during Halloween which is hot ass. In this shot you can see that the decorations were designed like the masks from “Halloween III: Season of the Witch“. I love that.

the-guest-review-c2ae210a-7644-43fe-a908-0f3f25f4ea31

Here they are carving pumpkins with a switch blade. I loved that. 1407781768851_wps_3_The_Guest_2_jpg

D. Maika Monroe aka Sarah Connor and Brendan Meyer aka John Connor. 

THE GUEST

E. This song by Stevie B. was played. I loved that.

F. The film was directed by Adam Wingard who made V/H/S (segment “Tape 56”), The ABCs of Death (segment “Q Is for Quack”),  V/H/S/2 (segment “Phase I Clinical Trials”) and You’re Next. I think he is on the right path, but something always seems missing. Like a punch or something original. I have hopes for him after this movie. It’s like the ending of this movie lacked something fun or cool that could have made it great. Maybe David could have been a robot. Maybe who could have been sent by the dead son to kill that family, because the son hated them. Shit something.

G. Dan Stevens was also on Downton Abbey as Matthew Crawley.

Dan-Stevens-as-Matthew-Crawley-downton-abbey-31939358-1559-1040

H. I wish the story would have paid off in the end. It just left you feeling flat. Throw me a fuckin bone.

I. This poster is great. I love the color.

the-guest-releasing-on-09-october-2014_r2r5

 

One thought on ““The Guest” or “Terminator Mary Poppins” my fuckin review

Leave a Reply

