“Tangerine” or “Amazing Hookers On Christmas Eve”- my fucking review

Here is my review for “Tangerine“. Okay the movie starts off with 2 transgender hookers (Sin-Dee and Alexandra) trying to make their way in a fucked up world. Sometimes that means you gotta trick. Sin-Dee has recently gotten out of jail and is looking for her boyfriend Chester. He is also a pimp. Alexandra tells her that Chester has been cheating on her with some bitch named Dinah. Now the adventure begins because Sin-Dee is out to find Dinah and whip her ass. Meanwhile Alexandra is just trying to get people to come hear her sing at a bar on X-Mas Eve. Too real. There is an Armenian cab driver also who has a crush on Sin-Dee and picks up crazy ass passengers. Some he wants to give a Blow Job too. There is a scene going through a car wash that is amazing. In the end the shit hits the fan but also has a heartwarming Christmas message. Okay I loved this movie and you need to see it. Yes, it’s funny and trashy. This movie feels real and it’s Not Safe for Work or boring ass people. Honestly the dialogue in this movie makes more sense to me than any other movie I have seen this year. The characters are fun, likable and memorable. The music is great and when Alexandra sings “Toyland” at first you laugh, but then by the time she is done you feel sad for her. I think I loved it because I relate to over-the-top characters like these in films the most, but by the end you realize they are honest and just like everyone else. They really do care about each other in the harsh ass world they live in. The last scene between Sin-Dee and Alexandra is amazing and NOT cheesy or forced at all but so real, and shows the love they have for each other as friends. Unlike the Pimp Chester and Hoe Dinah. So if you love fun, over-the-top, real, interesting, vulgar, and lovable characters in a movie then this is the movie for you. There is a John Waters and Harmony Korine feel to it. So if you like their work you will like this movie as well. It was for me and I felt happy after watching it. It is one of the most honest Christmas stories I have ever seen. I will buy this movie the day it comes out. You should watch with the kids on Christmas Day.

 

The Trailer:

The Fuckin Facts:

A. The dialogue for this movie is the best I have seen this year. It’s real, honest, and funny. I literally said “True” through the whole movie. They never shy away from being vulgar and real about sex, drugs, discrimination, and violence. That’s what makes it so honest for me.

B. Kitana Kiki Rodriguez and May Taylor are amazing as Alexandra and Sin-Dee. I hope they make sequels with these characters. Best Friends forever. 

screen shot 2015-06-24 at 3.06.23 pm.png

C. This film was directed by Sean Baker (StarletPrince of BroadwayTake Out). I am interested in seeing his other films.

D. This film was shot exclusively on 3 iPhone 5s smartphones, along with the Moondog Labs’ anamorphic clip on lens and a $8 app, FiLMiC Pro in addition to Steadicam Smoothee Mounts. WTF! THAT is crazy, but shows if characters are interesting they can be filmed on duct tape and it will still be fun.

tangerine003

E. Clu Gulager is in this movie riding in cab. I love him and he was in The Return of the Living Dead and A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge

I meet him once. Here is what he wrote “Goddamn it”

819420_10151428357794819_1735936278_o

F. I mean look at these screen shots of Sin-Dee grabbing another hoe by the hair! I was dizzy.

maxresdefault

film1-1_7-9-15

G. I made 3 films a few years ago about Hookers on Christmas and what they had to deal with. It is NSFW also. Haha

H. This soundtrack was hot!  Get it here! The Christmas song “Toyland” was my favorite.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/tangerine-original-motion/id1015770259

I. I like this poster.

tangerine-poster

One response to ““Tangerine” or “Amazing Hookers On Christmas Eve”- my fucking review

  1. Pingback: The Best Fuckin Films of 2015 You Stupid Ass! | EDDIE RAY BREAKS THAT SHIT DOWN!

Leave a Reply

