“The Neon Demon” or “Beauty Isn’t the Only Thing, There Is Also Blood!” my fuckin review

Here is my review for “The Neon Demon“. Okay I loved “Drive” and liked “Only God Forgives”. So I was excited about “The Neon Demon”. If any Director is creating real art it’s Nicolas Winding Refn for sure. This film starts off with an amazing main title song by Cliff Martinez. Yes! It grabs your attention right off. Meanwhile back to the story, a photographer named Dean is taking pictures of a young girl named Jesse who is just starting off in the modeling world. While changing after that shoot Jesse meets a makeup artist called Ruby and they become friends. Ruby introduces her to other models and fashion designers who love and hate her for beauty and youth. Jesse is only 16 years old but everyone wants what she has and they will literally do anything to get that shit. Now I don’t want say anything else so I don’t spoil the insane shit that happens the rest of the movie, but honestly it gets weird and crazy as fuck.

Okay so yes I loved this movie. It’s beautiful, intense, and insane, and I know that everyone will not love it, but it held my attention the whole time. It might get too crazy for some, but I was literally saying “yessss” when it got more violent or vulgar, etc. They gave me something interesting and visually unique. The characters are evil, sad, and bizarre and even sometimes robotic. At times there are even hints of italian and vampire horror films mixed in which was just cool. The modeling industry even felt like a Satanic/Witches cult which I loved too. There were some things in the movie that made a couple of people in the audience walk out of the theater but I loved that too. If you want PG then go see “Finding Dory” or some shit. This is not that movie. If you can make people sick enough to walk out of your film or get the audience to say “This director needs to be put in an insane asylum” (someone said that behind us) then you did your job. The audience felt something for fucks sake. Like I said this director is doing what he wants to and it’s interesting and might shock your lame tired ass, so you might walk out or get turned on. Shit who knows, but go see it. Sometimes film should be shocking. My only issue is the dialogue was quiet at times but I feel like his last 3 films were that way as well. I think his films have a music video quality to them sometimes but honestly I’m okay with that also. So think vampire/Italian horror meets David Lynch meets David Cronenberg meets Stanley Kubrick meets “Showgirls” meets a fairy tale. So I loved it. Enter at your own risk bitch.  I will see it again and buy it.

The Trailer: 

Just the Facts Please:

A. Directed by Nicolas Winding Refn (DriveOnly God ForgivesValhalla RisingBronson). He is great director and keeps me interested and guessing and his work can be paused anywhere and turing into a painting for the wall. 

My review for “Drive”. https://eddieraysmoviereviews.wordpress.com/2011/09/23/drive-or-one-of-the-best-movies-of-2011-my-fuckin-review/

My review for “Only God Forgives”. https://eddieraysmoviereviews.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/only-god-forgives-or-its-rude-to-stare-ryan-gosling-my-fuckin-review/

An interview with Elle and and Director Nicolas.

B. Abbey Lee (Mad Max: Fury Road– The Dag) was great in this movie and was beautiful and creepy. Here she is taking off her fuckin glasses and is literally frozen. Amazing. Lifeless. Love her!

55813_ppl

tumblr_o8fgo0PywI1vslvbjo1_540

C. Elle Fanning (Super 8Maleficent) was great. She was really 16 when they filmed this and honestly seemed like “Everything” in this movie.

tumblr_o7spb4DyAS1vslvbjo1_540

D. Cliff Martinez my mind is blown. This score is the best I have heard this year. I love it. I am amazing at his work in the last few years. Go CLIFF!

E.  Bella Heathcote (Dark ShadowsPride and Prejudice and Zombies) was great as the hungry ass model.  I love her in this film.

maxresdefault

tumblr_o8ffuzJPNU1vslvbjo1_540

F. Elizabeth Bathory was this real countess who wanted to keep her beauty and bathed in girls blood. Check her ass out here.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Báthory

G.   This song is amazing by Julian Winding “The Demon Dance”.

H. Jena Malone (Donnie DarkoThe Dangerous Lives of Altar BoysSaved!Sucker PunchThe Hunger Games: Catching FireBatman v Superman: Dawn of Justice) is great in this movie and fucked up. She sells that shit. Creepy as fuck! Take that moon bath!

086340.jpg-r_1280_720-f_jpg-q_x-xxyxx

I. Karl Glusman (Starship Troopers: InvasionStonewallThe Clown) was cool as the photographer boyfriend. 

the-neon-demon

J. So many triangles in this movie. Father, son, holy ghost! The trinity of girls!

TheNeonDemonfront1

K. This poster is amazing.

neon_demon_ver7

One response to ““The Neon Demon” or “Beauty Isn’t the Only Thing, There Is Also Blood!” my fuckin review

  1. Pingback: The Best Films of 2016! MY FUCKIN OPINION! | EDDIE RAY BREAKS THAT SHIT DOWN!

Leave a Reply

