“Take Shelter” or “There’s a Storm a Coming”- my fucking review

I just watched “Take Shelter” and here is the movie review. The movie starts off with Michael Shannon living with his wife and his hearing impaired daughter. They are happy and shit, but they aren’t rich. Michael starts seeing storm clouds coming with tornadoes and apocalyptic shit in it, and having visions of people in the windows after his ass. It turns out he is the only person seeing this shit, but he is wigged out and starts remodeling his storm cellar because of it. People begin to think he is nuts as fuck. The visions and dreams become more intense and he goes to see a doctor about it because he fears he may be going insane. Later his wife and daughter are like “What the fuck”, and get bitchy with him. As the storm approaches you find out if he is off his fuckin rocker or the end is really near. Ok so I really dug this movie a lot, and loved it’s quiet and eerie feel. Michael Shannon is one of those actors you wish got more attention because he deserves it. I really love to watch him act in movies. I also love apocalyptic films so much and this one really made you feel a sense of dread the entire time. I really is a dark and moody the film and made me feel uneasy watching it. So if you love Michael Shannon, storms coming, the apocalypse, storm shelters, and dark films then this movie is for you. I dug it a lot. Check it out bitch, it’s on DEMAND and NETFLIX.

The Trailer:

The Facts:

A. Director Jeff Nichols did an awesome job of making you feel creeped out.

B. Alan Steadman said “This film was Haunting”.

C. There is nothing wrong with being prepared.

D. Michael Shannon is always interesting to watch on film.

E. If there is an apocalypse coming I doubt a storm shelter will do shit to help you.

F. The score was pretty moody and dark, and I loved it. Listen here. It was composed by David Wingo.

G. There are people who dream about and see visions of storms or apocalyptic things to come. They are said to be  crazy but who knows.

H. Sarah Connor saw the same storm at the end of “The Terminator“.

I. Jessica Chastain was really believable in this movie too and you felt her confusion.

J. I love the ending to this movie.

K. I like how the poster seems bright, blue and happy, but clearly something is wrong.

3 thoughts on ““Take Shelter” or “There’s a Storm a Coming”- my fucking review

  1. I saw and enjoyed this, loved the ending. During the same week I also saw Martha Marcy May Marlene, which I think you’d also like. I’d really like to see you review that one along with Kill List, and Bellflower, your reviews do it like it should be done.

Leave a comment